Giant piezoelectricity in oxide thin films with nanopillar structure

High-performance piezoelectric materials are critical components for electromechanical sensors and actuators. For more than 60 years, the main strategy for obtaining large piezoelectric response has been to construct multiphase boundaries, where nanoscale domains with local structural and polar heterogeneity are formed, by tuning complex chemical compositions. We used a different strategy to emulate such local heterogeneity by forming nanopillar regions in perovskite oxide thin films. We obtained a giant effective piezoelectric coefficient 𝑑∗33,𝑓 of ~1098 picometers per volt with a high Curie temperature of ~450°C. Our lead-free composition of sodium-deficient sodium niobate contains only three elements (Na, Nb, and O). The formation of local heterogeneity with nanopillars in the perovskite structure could be the basis for a general approach to designing and optimizing various functional materials.



Work Title Giant piezoelectricity in oxide thin films with nanopillar structure
Open Access
  1. Huajun Liu
  2. Haijun Wu
  3. Khuong Phuong Ong
  4. Tiannan Yang
  5. Ping Yang
  6. Pranab Kumar Das
  7. Xiao Chi
  8. Yang Zhang
  9. Caozheng Diao
  10. Wai Kong Alaric Wong
  11. Eh Piew Chew
  12. Yi Fan Chen
  13. Chee Kiang Ivan Tan
  14. Andrivo Rusydi
  15. Mark B. H. Breese
  16. David J. Singh
  17. Long-Qing Chen
  18. Stephen J. Pennycook
  19. Kui Yao
License In Copyright (Rights Reserved)
Work Type Article
  1. Science
Publication Date July 17, 2020
Publisher Identifier (DOI)
Deposited August 10, 2022




This resource is currently not in any collection.

Work History

Version 1

  • Created
  • Updated
  • Added Creator Sandra Elder
  • Added Giant piezoelectricity in oxide thin films with nanopillar structure.pdf
  • Updated License Show Changes
  • Published
  • Updated Publisher, Publisher Identifier (DOI) Show Changes
    • Science
    Publisher Identifier (DOI)
  • Deleted Creator Sandra Elder
  • Added Creator Huajun Liu
  • Added Creator Haijun Wu
  • Added Creator Khuong Phuong Ong
  • Added Creator Tiannan Yang
  • Added Creator Ping Yang
  • Added Creator Pranab Kumar Das
  • Added Creator Xiao Chi
  • Added Creator Yang Zhang
  • Added Creator Caozheng Diao
  • Added Creator Wai Kong Alaric Wong
  • Added Creator Eh Piew Chew
  • Added Creator Yi Fan Chen
  • Added Creator Chee Kiang Ivan Tan
  • Added Creator Andrivo Rusydi
  • Added Creator Mark B. H. Breese
  • Added Creator David J. Singh
  • Added Creator Long-Qing Chen
  • Added Creator Stephen J. Pennycook
  • Added Creator Kui Yao